About Danny Rosenbaum

Webmaster of biogs.com

This week’s results

The RAC  beat the Chelsea Arts Club 4-2 in the Cup

Natasha Regan v Richard Black 1/2 – 1/2

Stephen Meyler v Isambard Thomas 1/2 – 1/2

Trevor Dunmore v Mike Radcliffe 1-0

Paul Weston v Will Timbers 1-0

Robert Feather v Lino Mannocci 1-0

Richard Hughes v Marc Wolff 0-1

This week’s friendlies:

Wed 17 Oct 2018              HUR v MCC     4.5-1.5
Wed 17 Oct 2018              NLC v ROE      2-2




This week’s results

Two friendlies:

Tue 9 Oct 2018                  ATH v MCC               1-4
Tue 9 Oct 2018                  RAC v ROE              0.5-5.5

One Cup match:
Wed 10 Oct 2018              ORI/EIC v O&C       3.5-4.5

Match card (ORI/EIC first):

Sam Franklin  1- 0 Julio Brau

Yaroslav Voropayev 0.5-0.5 Peter Webster

IJ Parry 0-1 Chris Heath

Hamilton McMillan 0.5-0.5 Ian Coleman

Robert McClatchey 0.5-0.5 Anna York-Andersen

Luke King 0-1 John Godfray

Habib Amir 0.5-0.5 David Jones

Callum Lee 0.5-0.5 Adrian Bingham


Reform beat the National Liberal Club

The Reform Club at home beat the National Liberal Club 5-2 in the Cup

Full match card below:

Peter Evans 0.5-0.5 Nick Kirby

Mark Glover 1-0 James Whiteley

Danny Rosenbaum 1-0 Paul Chamberlain

Richard Saunders 1-0 Nigel Giffin

Nicholas Cron 0.5-0.5 Ben Widdicombe

Benedikt Koehler 0-1 Gordon Hamme

David Saunders 1-0 (walkover)

Nicholas Cron and Ben Widdicombe concentrating hard

The tense last game!

The 12th Annual Hamilton Russell Dinner

This year the National Liberal Club hosted the annual dinner and thy did it in fine style.

Champagne followed by an excellent meal followed by coffee with port and brandy.

Gordon Hamme gave an entertaining speech, and the trophies were presented.

Stephen Meyler of the RAC presented the Sheldon Marshall Trophy to David Longrigg, receiving on behalf of the MCC A team and then Danny Rosenbaum presented the Hamilton Russell Cup to Stephen who collected it on behalf of the 2017/18 winners the RAC.

David Longrigg with the Sheldon Marshall Trophy (HR secretary in the foreground!)

Gordon Hamme of the NLC with the HR Cup in the foreground

Stephen Meyler of the RAC

Knights’ Tour 2018 Report

Another thoroughly enjoyable Knights’ Tour was held today and it was another close run contest.

Team Morphy and Team Chigorin ended up joint winners with both scoring 2 wins out of 3.

Many thanks to The Oxford & Cambridge, The RAC and The Reform for their terrific hosting and to John Godfray, Peter Lee and Henry McWatters for all their help organising the event.

Thanks above all to the players who made this such a convivial event. The teams are listed below:

Team 1: Chigorin

Trevor Dunmore (RAC)

David Openshaw (ROE)

James Whiteley (NLC)

Danny Rosenbaum (Reform)

Richard Jones (RAC)

Stephen Hunt (RAC)

John Curran (RAC)

Edina Seiben (ex LAN)

Team 2: Tal

Peter Lee (ATH)

Izzie Thomas (CAC)

David Shankland (ATH)

Ben Widdicombe (NLC)

Gordon Hamme (NLC)

Paul Hendrick (Reform)

Mark Taylor (LAN)

Tatiana Mallinson (CAC)


Team 3: Morphy

Henry McWatters (RAC)

John Godfray (O&C)

Robert Feather (RAC)

Habib Amir (ORI)

Alan Fishman (Reform)

Scott Samuel (RAC)

Lawrence Wilcox (RAC)

Anne Abel Smith (Reform)


Team 4: Capablanca

Ian Reynolds (MCC)

Wil Ransome (MCC)

Richard Hughes (RAC)

David Longrigg (MCC)

Richard Saldanha (ex O&C)

Alex Lynford (RAC)

Steve Phillips (LAN)

Janine Mackinlay (RAC)