This week’s results: Cup and friendlies

The MCC beat Hurlingham 4-2 in the Cup:

Ian Reynolds 0.5 0.5 Mark Woloshyn
Ed Goodall 0.5 0.5 Stephen Quartermaine
Chris Waites 0.5 0.5 Michael Yeoh
David Bates 1 0 Robert Gordon
Louis Ditz 0.5 0.5 Paul Mustafa
Peter Rust 1 0 Philip Fleury

The RAC beat the National Liberal Club 3.5-0.5 in the Cup:

  1. Stephen Meyler ½           Nick Kirby ½
  2. Trevor Dunmore 1           Paul Chamberlain 0
  3. Wayne Clark 1                 Nigel Giffin 0
  4. Henry McWatters 1         Jay Dias 0

In the friendlies, Chelsea Arts beat The Athenaeum 3-1, and the Oxford & Cambridge beat the combined East India and Oriental team 3-1.


National Liberal Club and Hurlingham draw

Hurlingham drew at home to the NLC in the Cup 3-3.

Match card below (Hurlingham players listed first):

Gareth Pearce 1 vs Nick Kirby 0

Stephen Quartermaine 1 vs James Whiteley 0

Michael Yeoh 0.5 vs Paul Chamberlain 0.5

Robert Gordon 0 vs Nigel Giffin 1

Alan Jeffreys 0 vs Ben Widdicombe 1

Paul Mustafa 0.5 vs Gordon Hamme 0.5

There were two friendlies this week. The Athenaeum lost to the Oxford & Cambridge 2-4, and the Chelsea Arts Club beat the RAC 4-1.

MCC beat East India and Oriental

The combined forces of the East India and Oriental narrowly lost at home to the MCC 3-4 in the Cup.

Match card below (EIC / ORI players listed first):

Sam Franklin  1-0 Tom Eckersley-Waites

Yaroslav Voropayev 0.5-0.5 Adam Eckersley-Waites

Hamilton McMillan 0.5-0.5 Dominic Lawson

Robert McClatchey 0-1 Ian Reynolds

Luke King 0-1 Ed Goodall

Peter Haddock 0-1 Nick Collacott

Habib Amir 1-0 Chris Waites

MCC also won the three friendly boards.

Oriental win the Mini-Tournament

Michael Clappe of the MCC organised a terrific mini tournament that took place this week at Lord’s.

The Oriental, represented by Hamilton McMillan, Peter Haddock and Habib Amir took first place, followed by (in order) the MCC, the Hurlingham and The Reform.

The format was 3 games of 20 minutes a side with each team represented by three players. All clubs played each other in board order.

Special mention goes to Hamilton McMillan who scored 3/3 on Board 1.

MCC beat the National Liberal Club

The MCC at home beat the NLC by 3.5-1.5 in the Cup.

Full match card below:

Ed Goodall 1/2 Nick Kirby 1/2

Nick Collacott 1 James Whiteley 0

Chris Waites 1 Paul Chamberlain 0

David Clarkson 0 Nigel Giffin 1

Peter Rust 1 Gordon Hamme 0

In this week’s two friendlies the Reform beat Hurlingham and the RAC beat the combined East India and Oriental side.



RAC beat The Hurlingham

The RAC beat The Hurlingham away from home in the Cup 0.5-5.5

Full match card (Hurlingham players listed first):

Mark Woloshyn 0 1 Natasha Regan
Stephen Quartermaine 0.5 0.5 Lee Green
Michael Yeoh 0 1 Trevor Dunmore
Robert Gordon 0 1 Henry McWatters
Richard Paterson 0 1 Robert Feather
Paul Mustafa 0 1 Rob Matthews

Hurlingham won the friendly boards 2-1

Last week’s friendly saw the MCC beat the East India and Oriental team 4.5-3.5