Previous Winners

We have just added a link in our top menu to a list of all the previous winners of the Hamilton-Russell Cup.

On a cursory glance I divide up the tournament into the following eras:

  • 1924 – 1939 National Liberal Club, Authors Club and the RAC dominant
  • 1940 – 1947 No Competition
  • 1948 – 1968 National Liberal Club, The Athenaeum and the RAC dominant
  • 1969 – 1984 Only winner: The RAC!

Since 1985, it has been much more of a mixed bag with the Oxford & Cambridge and the MCC joining the RAC and the Athenaeum as multiple winners.

The only winners of the Cup in just one year are – Imperial Chess Club (1939) and Hurlingham (joint winners in 1988)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s